Backpacking Packing Guide- Matthew 10:10

dsc_0001-1

Traveling abroad has infinite unknowns, but what stresses me out the most is what to pack! I’ve been the victim of an airline losing my luggage while traveling in the States, and it was a catalyst for pitfall after pitfall. To avoid that situation all together, I pack a carryon whenever possible even if that means sacrificing a few pairs of shoes. However, for my three week trip to Israel, Jordan, Greece, and England, I decided to try backpacking. My boyfriend John is well traveled, and he swears by the backpack. When hopscotching between countries via plane and train, backpacks make zipping through subway stations and airports incredibly easy while everything you brought is by your side, not dragging behind you.

I planned, prepared, and purchased for this style of packing for months, so I wanted to share a few tips I learned along the way!

dsc_0927

Toiletries:

Consolidate with as many two-in-one’s as you can!

A few I purchased for this trip were:

Philosophy Purity Cleanser

A makeup remover, cleanser, and toner all in one 3 oz. bottle

Philosophy Shampoo/Shower Gel

Keep in mind that most hotels and hostels will provide shampoo and body wash

Nars Blush & BronserΒ Duo

One less compact and brush!

dsc_0908

Dresses (or Should I say DRESS-Singular)

Take ONE dress that can be dressed up AND down.

This Sun & Shadow midi dress from Nordstrom covers my shoulders and knees, and can be dressed up with heeled booties for a night out and dressed down with flip flops for the pool.

dsc_0987

Outdoor/ Rain Gear

Bring LAYERS!

A bulky coat doesn’t fit in a backpack and unless you plan to WEAR it everywhere, bring a lightweight waterproof jacket, and lots of layers. I also recommend a pair water wicking hiking pants and button up shirt that you can adventure in without worrying about getting down and dirty.

In addition, I packed a thin quilted vest and leather jacket that I could wear on the plane.

dsc_0081

Swimwear & Sunnies

Always pack a swimsuit and sunglasses!

We had scheduled a snorkeling excursion, but you never know where your travels may take you!

‘Don’t carry a traveler’s bag with a change of clothes and sandals or even a walking stick.’

Matthew 10:10

When Jesus’s disciples went out to minister, Jesus told them not to pack anything. It was customary for those who are being ministered to should provide food and shelter in exchange for spiritual services. While this trip to Israel wasn’t related to ministry, we wanted to pack light so that we could focus more on walking Jesus’s literal footsteps, verses focusing on material possessions!

Have a blessed week!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

